Sami Ruusukallio / Eppu Normaali

Sami plays


Eppu Normaali is the national treasure of Finland – the best selling (Finnish singing) ever rock band in our country. The band has released 14 studio albums, of which 10 has sold platinum and 4 gold. Their style of music has shifted along the years from the early era punk rock to more melodic direction.

Eppu Normaali was formed in 1976 by brothers Martti (vocals) and Mikko “Pantse” Syrjä (guitar), their cousin Aku Syrjä (drums), Mikko Saarela (bass) and Juha Torvinen (left-handed guitar). The lineup has remained the same except a couple of bass player changes, first to Mikko Nevalainen (1979) who was replaced by Sami Ruusukallio in 1989.

Sami’s Steambass Classic has a thermo treated Alder body and Maple neck with Indian Rosewood fretboard. Other features include stainless steel frets, moose shin bone nut and handmade PJ style pickups by Harry Häussel.

“All I can say is this – since I bought the Steambass it has been the only bass I play both in studio and live!”
– Sami Ruusukallio